JMW Turner at the National Gallery

Oil paint calls to me.  The smell, the texture, the way light passes through and bounces back through layers of glaze, I love it.  It’s imagination and self-expression in a tube.  One of my utmost favorite painters from history is JMW Turner.  I am drawn to the fire in his skies and the emotions that his use of color evoke.  I cried at the National Gallery in London looking at his work.  I could spend hours losing myself in the sumptuousness of his paintings.  There were many other works at the National Gallery that I enjoyed, namely the buttery yellow Van Gogh sunflowers, and Monet’s haystacks.  I would have been perfectly happy spending the entire week at the gallery.  Shakespeare at the Globe was fun, swimming in Bath was luxurious, but looking at Turner’s work in London made my soul sing.img_1167


One thought on “JMW Turner at the National Gallery

Leave a comment